Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2004-09-03 - 11:30 p.m.

I am both blessed and grateful

Monday was Monday and today I'm just grateful. I'm grateful no one I know was hurt ar died in the flood.

Cars and possessions can be replaced. The lives of my friends and family can't.

I think what struck me the most was the complete and total devastation that happened in such a short time. You'd think that after Hurricane Isabel, that wouldn't floor me, but it did. I'm not shocked at my own personal losses, which in both cases were thankfully very minor. But the losses sustained in general.

At the moment, the monetary toll of the rains of Monday exceedthe damage done by Isabel by a long shot. Um...wow.

From my tiny window, I saw dreams dashed, homes and vehicles destroyed, and personal belongings floating away. I saw cars in heaps as if someone took a box of matchbox cars and dumped them on the living room carpet and stomped on them for good measure. I saw a little parking lot attendant box float into the middle of the street. Thankful there was no one inside.

I was glad to finally get to work this morning and get to the business of "normalcy" for the first time in a week.

IT reminded me a LOT of Isabel, how even though I really didn't want to be at work, it was a respite from home. This was a little different. I wanted to get back to work to see the damage, to verify that what happened wasn't just a dream, but some perverse reality.

One Monday night, when we finally walked out, for a split second it felt like we were the only people on the planet; our voices echoed in the darkness and there was silence.. an eerie silence. I never really realized tthat water was loud.

I am grateful that I don't drive myself to work. I'm grateful that my husband was able to be home with the puppies safe and sound. I'm grateful that I was safe and sound, although not where I want to be. I'm grateful for the mama possum checking her pouch and for the ding-dong of our doorbell fromn a fellow possum checking up on us.

I'm grateful for all of the people who wondered if I was okay and for those who actually worried.

There was a time, not too long ago when I windered if I had any friends. I don't wonder about that any more. I know I do, and I cherish them all, each one of them. FOr a variety of different reasons.

I am blessed to have such wonderful friends; and I hope they feel the same.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com