Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2004-05-11 - 4:18 p.m.

Survivor.. the Stupid.. but Amazing Race is AWESOME!

Well, this is my diatribe on "Survivor".

I saw the end on Sunday, and on this Thursday, I'll see the end of the end. Yeah, it's like Bob and son of Bob..

I was really hoping for Rupert to win and at the same time, I was disgusted. So... other than whatshisname, who's making the millions on these "reality" television shows.. and tell me this.. what makes thse different than the lying, cheating, stealing, dishonorable, relationship-screwing, friend dissing that goes on from day to day in the real world... why do people care who "wins" this game? Why are folks watching (I was watching in the serious hope that Rupert, the one I perceive to be the "good guy" would win.. yep.. I was rooting for the underdog..but the backstabbing, lying, cheating son-of-a-pup's girlfriend won. And since he's now engaged to her, so he STILL wins... (what happened to that "you can't share the winnings with another player, rule????)..but back to what I was trying to say.. why do we watch these things... why do we care that people are put in a contrived situation and they still manage to be the lowest of the low and come out on top? What does this say about us a society? What does this teach our kids (it does come on television at 8PM, so kids are watching)... nice guys not only don't finish last.. most of the time, they don't finish at all. There's nothing going on Survivor that doesn't happen on a daily basis outside of my front door... so why do I see the need to watch it on television?

I guess because it's because I can do it from the comfort of my house and I can eat potato chips and guzzle DVC in the process.

And while I'm on the bandwagon... Am I the only person that thinks Big Tom is just the WRONG representative for Virginia? I mean.. Puhlease... If I see that man in coveralls and no shirt, or do that hillbilly hick dance one more time, I think I'm going to vomit.

I love showers and the like too much to want to go without one for 39 days (I can't stand to go more than 24 hours... in fact, I rarely do that... eeeeww)..but at any rate... I'm waiting for the next Amazing Race Now that's interesting.. yes.. people are in contrived sitations, but they're also interacting with the world around them, they're working together with a partner, and they're accomplishing goals.. and they get to see some really awesome scenery while they travel the world.

Would I ever be a "survivor"? Hell NO! Would I try out for Amazing Race? Hell yes! The words "in a heartbeat" come to mind.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com