Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2004-05-09 - 11:25 p.m.

My Clie' and a Bandwagon Jump!

I found another use for my Clie'.

We woke up this morning intent on fixing the drip in the pipe leading into the hot water heater.... we went to the local Home Depot, bought everything we'd need to re-solder the pipes and etc., and we were pretty confident that we could do this... we'd soldered pipe before, so it should be a snap... shouldn't take an hour.... right?

Well, wrong...

We got the pipes (yes, there were more than one...) all soldered and we turned on the water.. I heard air which puzzled me (my love was under the house turning on the water) and then a spurt of water.. followed by a loud POP as the cold water pipes separated...there was some swearing involved and we turned the water off again... we resoldered that same pipe and tried again... it blew a second time... we resoldered the joint a third time, turned on the water, and we were happy to just get a fast leak... but we heard the hissing form the HOT water pipe and BOOM! the pipe we had soldered blew apart. Holy crap! We got the water turned off.. resoldered THAT pipe and it held, but the joint was iffy, and it wasn't so much of a drip as it was a steady flow from the joint.

So.. after much swearing and gnashing of teeth.. we decided we needed the help of higher powers. We called my love's dad, a friend of ours, and another friend who lives in the barony... they all gave good counsel, but none of it worked. We even called REAL honest to goodness plumbers.. none of which could come out (we had no hot water at this point.. so we were desperate).

My love went onto the net at diy.net and found out all about compression clamp to fix pipes. Not really knowing how we would explain this to the Home Depot.. we saved the picture and I downloaded it to my clie. We walked into the Home Depot, I pulled my Clie' out of my pocket, turned it on and got the picture to full screen.. then we found a Home Depot employee in the plumbing and fixtures aisle. We walkd up to him, and I thurst my Clie' in his face and said... "We need about a dozen of THESE!" The man looked at my little handheld quizzically and took me right to them... and then he asked what we planned to to with them. We explained our predicament.. and he sold us something else :-) It was a compression fitting of another kind... but the upshot is.. it worked! We hav hot water, we have cold water, and we did it ourselves... sorta...

So.. to wrap up this week, we got our oven fixed, and we repaired a leak to our hot water heater... now if we can only figure out why the ABS light comes on SOME times and not others.. we'll have it all back to "normal".. whatever that is...

and now.. to jump on the bandwagon everyone else is jumping on:

1. Grab the nearest book.

2. Open the book to page 23.

3. Find the fifth sentence (not line, sentence).

4. Post the text of the sentence in your journal along with these instructions.

"Fly-shuttle weaving, though it is mechanical weaving, is still a different class from power-loom weaving and needs a definite name of it's own."

Wow.. imagine that... the closest book would be one on weaving....scary, hunh?



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com