Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2004-05-03 - 7:26 a.m.

Sundays are hell

Don't you love a diety with a sense of humor.. even if it is pretty poor?

I went to the S&W Festival on Saturday, had a great time.. brought home a treasure.. all was well.. little did I know that in about 24 hours, it would all fall to crap about as fast as anything I'd ever seen.

So it's Sunday.. and we head out to get groceries.. nothing strange or weird there, until we checked out... $200 grocery bill that should have only cost about $150 tops. Okay.. that's not horrenduous, we should be able to weather that without a significant problem.

So then we go home and I decide I want some pizza. I turn the oven on and go about my pizza making ritual (I've been doing this since I was about 10, so yes, it's a ritual.) My pizza is ready and I open the oven door... and there's no heat blast. Hmm odd. I turn on the burner thinking that perhaps we forgot to pay the gas... nope, that's not the problem... so after an hour or so of trial and error, and a call to the GE service center, we find out that our electric starter for our gas oven has died. We figure we can probably start it with a match.. but there appears to be a emergency shut off. If that thing malfunctions, no gas... without gas, there's no amount of matches in the world that will light a gas stove. So after we're connected with a service person, they tell us they can't be out until Tuesday "between 1 and 5" how... lovely. (no, that wasn't what I was thinking at the time)... so, we did a drop back and punt meal.. We've got a few different ways to cook the things we want, so it's not horrible and awful to wait.. but now I'm sitting here feeling six shades of guilty that this whole stove fixing is going to wipe out what little bit of money we do have... It's $80 for the guy to just come out...

So.. with that broken, we decide to work on something we think we can fix... we have a very small pinhole in the cold water pipe to the hot water heater. We have this tape stuff, that supposedly if you wrap it around the pipe, exactly so (it looks like camera film, but it's this rubberized tape).. it's supposed to stop leaks within 24 hours. Well, that didn't work either, at least it didn't when we turned the water on to look at our handiwork...We're going to have to cut pipe, move the hotwater heater (it's literally about 4 inches away from the WALL, which is why the soldering we originally did didn't work.. we coldn't get TO the problem well enough. Now.. I trust GOrm and his ability to weld... I really do.. I've seen him at work, and it's a sight to behold.. I just wish he had more to help him than me.

So neither of us are revelling in being homeowners right now.

Off to work!



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com