Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-11-18 - 9:36 a.m.

Weekend Update

In one breath it's "the damned fence" in another breath, I can't wait for it to get finished.

We got four posts in before the rains came. So we now have like, 5 more to go then the rest of the fence stuff to deal with. We went to Home Depot in the rain yesterday and bought the rest of everything we needed to finish the fence and it came to about $500; which sent me into immediate panic mode. Neither of us dreamed it was going to cost this much. We'd already spent about $150 on the project... this is one expensive fence... but considering what happened this morning I can't wait for it to get finished.

This morning, I took Honey outside (in the front yard) to "be nice". She spotted an african american riding by on a bicycle and she promptly decided to chase him. She darted from our front yard, through the neighbors front yard, found a place to jump the ditch and took off down the middle of the road, marking and chasing the guy on the bicycle. He just laughed, said hello and kept pedalling. She continued to run down the street, in the MIDDLE of the street, her tail wagging and she was just having a wonderful time! I was running my damnedest to get her and calling her, but she was being stubborn. Then I heard a sound that made my heart want to stop. A car was coming! I thought for sure I'd be burying my Honey this morning. The driver, a very nice woman, saw "the cutest little blob" running down the road and decided to stop. She opened the car door and Honey ran up to the car, barked at her twice and then let the nice lady pet her. The lady petted (is that a word) her long enough to get a hand in her collar and hold on to her so I could get a chance to run up and grab her. I thanked the lady profusely and then completely out of breath, we made our way back to the house.

All I could think of was that in about 5 days, she would never see the front yard again.

Yes, it's expensive as hell to put in a fence, but it would have been just awful if something had happened to her out there on the road.

I heard from the two members of our household who are giving us their dog... they have him for the week in an attempt to re-train him before we get him. He was being fostered by a friend of theirs who believes that all dogs should be worshipped, not trained. Before he went to her, he knew several tricks, one of which was to ring a set of sleigh bells when he needed to go out, and he was housebroken. Those are two biggies. He's having trouble with both of those these days, but considering all the trauma he's gone through lately, I'm not surprised. We've already laid in a supply of enzyme cleaner for the carpets.

Oh wow... Stone Cold Steve Austin and some of the Dallas Cowboys cheerleaders will be at the new Circuit City at Southpark Mall this Thursday at 6PM (from 6 to 7). I wonder how many folks I know will be there? Well, if you do go, come on by the homestead and help with the fence! :)

How's that for a good seguey?

As for the rest of the weekend, in between worrying about the fence and etc., it was good... we had a friend visit (the one who came to the demo with us).. she got laid off from her job on Friday and showed up on our doorstep pretty close to devastated. We spent the weekend helping her figure out her next move and where she could apply, etc as well as giving all the moral support we could beg, borrow or rent.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com