Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-11-08 - 2:57 p.m.

update

Well, here's an update to things this week... I had a conversation with my boss's boss an hour or so ago about the non-promotion... here are the reasons he gave me, which aren't the reasons that I was given last Friday.

1. The first one is my "changing schedule". It's not a policy of the company we work for, but HE feels that I am unreliable because I tend to leave early on Fridays. I make up the time prior to leaving, but he says it makes me unreliable for projects and the like.

2. He says I need to be more confident in my decision making. Okay. I can deal with that one. Heck, I can even understand that one. I do ask questions, but it's because I've been told two different things and I need clarification, not because I'm stupid.

You see, my boss and his boss have never been in a supervisory role before, so they were flabbergasted when I got upset about not getting the promotion. Gee.. imagine that...

What precipitated this exchange this afternoon? I sent an email to my boss and his boss and my boss's co-boss asking them that since I worked through my lunch, I was leaving a half hour early. Instead of saying no, one said "Have a great weekend, one said "sure.. thanks for the heads up" and the boss of my boss accidentally sent a reply to me that said "See what I mean?" Clearly it was NOT intended for me, but for someone else. I caught him on his walk by my cube and hit him soundly with a "What do you mean by, See what I mean?" He looked like I hit him in the stomach and gave him a sourball to suck on at the same time. It took him a second to recover and then we went to his office to talk about it.

I explained my side of things, about how I didn't feel he could hold me to his own personal ideal when it was not company policy. Basically what it boiled down to was, I could leave early if I wanted to, but it would probably cost me another promotion..

I explained to him that I know that he knows I am reliable and a project do-er. He knows that I never turn down anything I'm asked to do. I'll stay late, I'll come in early, I'll drop what I'm doing at a minutes notice to help, but at the same time, the company says they have a flexible work schedule to some degree and I was told that I could alter my schedule. I was *NOT* told that doing it three times would affect my chances for a promotion..

We had a good conversation, and we got a lot of things ironed out (like, it would have been nice to be told I didn't get the promotion and why rather than to let me stew for a week before deciding there's a problem.).

I'm in a lot better frame of mind, other than the last bit of the conversation when we were talking about me being off the phones for good (or at least long term). His response to my request was "well, answer me this, what's the difference between you saying you don't want to do the phones anymore and the two who got promoted saying they weren't going to do it period. My reply: "I've done it for 4 MONTHS. I deserve some time off, don't you think?" He couldn't disagree. I also reminded him that when I was hired, one of the MAJOR selling points of this job was the fact that I wouldn't have to answer the phone. That seems to be all I do these days. Even if I'm reviewing, I'm still on the phone explaining my reviews to lawyers and their clients.

Every day i leave the call center, I leave it with a headache. It's stress and I know it... it's one of those "you never know what's going to be on the phone... and lately, these people have been N-a-s-t-y-m-e-a-n. They want what they believe is theirs, and they don't have to be nice about it... sheesh!.

We also discussed the fact that I feel unappreciated and why. They bring in doughnuts to show their appreciation... me being a diabetic, I can't have doughnuts; but if it's the only appreciation I can get, well, I tend to give into temptation. Yep, it's wrong, and I shouldn't do it, it's playing havoc with the blood sugar, not to mention the weight (which is pretty much all back, I think ... but I'm always going to think/see myself as fat, there's not getting around that one.... good programming I'd say(*sigh*)

Have a great trip Mistress Rhiannon! I'm just green with envy!.

To Robear... I hope your implant surgery went well, and I hope it wasn't one of our implants. .

I have 23 minutes (yes, I'm leaving early today......) and you can pretend I'm a baby about to be born... yep.. I'm headin' out! :)



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com