Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-11-27 - 6:55 p.m.

Richmond Celtic Festival!!!

The Celtic Games Festival was this weekend and it was just incredible.

I'm going to follow everyone else's lead and do a best/worst.

Best:

1. Doing a demo with a very laid back group of people. Everyone seemed to have a good time.

2. Everyone pitching in and helping everyone else when it came to set up and tear down.

3. Interesting (and good) food. great music, and of course, large men throwing things.

4. I got to bring my loom to do a little bit of educating the public and showing them all something I consider neat!

5. Someone actually thought my inkle weaving was good enough to ask me if I'd teach them if they paid me.

6. People got to see that my weving "fetish" is real. I don't just talk about it, I do it.

7. Some friends of mine asked me to teach them about inkle weaving and using a lucet. That was awesome!

8. Going to a short "concert" sponsored by Guinness (I can't remember the name of the singer to save my life); but it was a wonderful trio.. one was a singer/guitar player, one was a percussionist, and one was a fiddle player.

9. Spending the weekend with a friend from NC, having her come to the demo with us, being practically indispensable in helping me warp my loom, and just having a great weekend

The not so best:

1. Small children with plastic swords in high traffic places

2. Loud "Celtic Rock" music.

3. Small children dressed in costume (complete with wigs) and competing... I gotta wonder who it's for.. the kids or the parents.. One JonBenet is enough, doncha think?

4. Realizing that we forgot to bring water!

5. Spending from 9:00 - 4:00 on Saturday with an hour off for lunch just WARPING my loom. I got about an hour of "real" weaving on Saturday before they closed for the evening. Lad it not been for our friend Liz, I think I'd still be warping it :)

6. Listening to the great trio, and then having something happen you didn't expect... have you ever heard a trip like I described do church hymns? In the middle of the mini concert, they did two hymns, one after the other. The first one was "Battle Hymn of the Republic" It brought me to tears. They way they presented it was moving, but what really was the capstone, was the last time I heard that song... it was one of the five songs they played at my father's funeral. The other hymn, coincidentally, was my mother's favorite, "Amazing Grace". I had to leave the performance area. It was just more than I was prepared to deal with. I had no clue those hymns would be there.

On the whole, it was a great festival, and one I'd definitely want to demo in again. I had a great time. I had a chance to walk around and see things and enjoy the celtic music and I got to talk to a fellow weaver. This is by far the best demo I've ever helped out at. It was just a great time!



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com