Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-10-08 - 11:21 a.m.

Expectations

This is a random stream of consciousness ramble, so if those sorts of things bug you, skip me today :)

I spent about 11 hours sleeping last night, making up for the 3 nights that I didn't get much sleep at all. It was nice to come home to a reasonably clean house yesterday.

We've got fighter practice tonight, and as far as I know, we'll be there. I have to work til 6:30 tonight to make up for leaving early for Crusades this coming Friday.

Today's ramble is on expectations. Why is it that your mind can work up these wonderful expectations, and just aren't possible, but they get built anyway and when something happens (or threatens to happen) it all sort of crumbles like a house of cards, leaving me feeling not so good.

How do you rein in your thoughts imagination so things aren't "larger than life" and then it's not such a huge disappoinment if it doesn't go according to plan.

There's nothing going on to precipitate this train of thought, so don't worry, I'm just sort of "thinking out loud."

I've been working on making my thoughts more positive, even when things aren't always the most positive they can be. That's really difficult when faced with disappointment.

I feel like this Pennsic should have been a wonderful training ground for learning to live with disappointment. In a way it was, in a way it just made it harder to deal with.

I'm not done learning the first things I've been talking about, but I think the next thing I need to add to my list of "things I need to Learn" is how to set realistic expectations. That's all part of the "I can't control what other people do/say" collection of artifacts I'm learning to catalog also; but how do you continuously let it just roll off like it doesn't matter?

*shrug* something else I need to work on, I guess.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com