Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-10-01 - 9:07 a.m.

They don't get it.

This is a rant. Just Deal.

I work in an office with about 70 people. They're hiring new people everyday to help with the workload and we're about to burst at the seams with people, and we've got no real place to put them. Right now, we've got several sitting in our small conference room, and we've got a few more lined up along the windows like ducks in a shooting gallery.

I have the distinct honor of being a multitasker. I can work on the call center and I can review claims. On the days they want me on the call center, I get to sit at "MY" desk. It's called MY desk because there's a nameplate with my name on it just right on the other side of the wall. When I'm NOT working on the call center, I'm reviewing claims and I have to give up my cube to someone working on the call center.

This means I get to go to the large conference room, unless there's a meeting. If there's a meeting, then I'm pretty much on my own for finding a space to sit and do my reviews. If, by chance, I'm out of the conference room pulling new claims to review, and a meeting springs up in there (thank you programmers); my stuff is trapped in there, and I have to find another place to sit right then and there.

It's been going on for about two months now; and whenever I ask for a place to sit, for just the day that I can leave my stuff and not worry that I can't get back to it for hours on end, they think I'm telling them I want MY cube, so I get stuck on the phones for a day. They think putting me on the call center for the day will calm down the need for my own space. It doesn't have to be MY cube, I could care less about my cube, but I want a place that I can come to and I won't get booted out with no notice.

I've tried talking to my immediate supervisor, and his immediate supervisor, but they don't seem to be getting the message.

Add to that, we've got two people on our "team" that can sit in their cubes (they have phones in their cubes because at one time, they were part of the call center). They get to sit in their cubes, not answering calls, and owrking on another facet of these claims, but when we need someone on the call center, I get moved at a minute's notice.

I know it's because I'm flexible and I'm working hard to make all of this work, but it's really hard to continue to do that when you see other people NOT being flexible in the slightest, and they seem to get their way.

Oh yeah.. and the word "LUSCIOUS" scrawled on a T-shirt s t r e t c h e d across someone's cleavage is NOT office attire at a downtown lawfirm.

There. I said it. Now I'm gonna go and beat my head against a brick wall.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com