Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-09-23 - 11:09 a.m.

Hows and Whys

Today I wait, like I have since Friday. My sister called me at 8AM yesterday to tell me is is now breathing with the assistance of oxygen under pressure and they have signed a DNR order. They are making her comfortable and waiting til she "goes". I've got a bag packed and I'm ready to jump and run when the call comes.

I have several questions about all of this...the first one... we can end the suffering of a beloved pet when their quality of life is at it's lowest part, why can't we help our own kind depart this life when it's obvious they are going slowly and in a terrible way?

The second one... am I the only person that thinks waiting for "the call" is a very macabre and just plain horrible thing?

The third one... This woman is my Aunt, my mother's sister. I never really had much of a relationship with her, partly the huge age difference (like close to 50 years, I was almost thirty and she'd call and ask if my Mommy was home); and I just don't know what to say. There is no common thread. I can't sit and talk about old times about my mother. Does she know she's dying? If I called her to say goodbye, what would I say? The words aren't there. I don't know what to say, or how to say it. My heart is rather empty, but yet I sit here in tears (at work, no less); it's all so confusing.

I've spent this weekend trying to do anything I could think of but sit here and wait to hear. I took a pair of pruning shears and cut weeds, I cleaned off the front porch (moving boxes and throwing out a lot of stuff); then I managed to mow the lawn, which is something I don't usually do, complete with mowing most of the rock driveway (lemme tell you, try moving a lawn mower with positive traction over dips and mountains of rocks... that's one hell of a work out.

I even bought some reese's peanut butter cups, but it didn't help, it just made my blood sugar funky so in short, it just made things worse.

My life is changing in small ways, but they're catching up with me, I'm feeling overwhelmed with it all, and I'm to the point that I want to go sit in a corner with a blanket over myself and let the world just kinda pass me by. I don't have a clue how I'm going to go to a funeral and not fall apart when I can't sit here in front of a computer, think about what's going on and look at the tears dotting my shirt.

I need more strength than I have. And Alan can't be there. I don't know how to do this.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com