Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-09-12 - 9:23 a.m.

Dogs and Life in General

Mistress Rhiannon's diaryland entry this morning touched a nerve, but not the one you think.

I have a dog, and I believe in keeping my dog controlled in unfamiliar (and even familiar surroundings--just ask the folks who visit us). I've taken her to events and she's sat in my lap so quietly that most people didn't even know she was there.

The main reason that I don't bring my dog anymore are other people's children. After spending one Crown Tournament a few years ago with the dog literally cowering under my skirt, I'd decided I'd had enough. I have always taken the opportunity to show children the correct way to approach a strange dog. But it doesn't matter, they run up to her, grab her nose, grab her tail, poke at her and she just looked at me with this "you have 10 seconds Mom, or it's all over!" She was very patient with them, but I could tell it was running thin. When people approach and ask if she bites, I tell them she never has, but it doesn't mean there won't be a first time. It's the truth. I won't lie. I've been attacked by both large and small dogs in my life, and dogs do bite, and you don't have to be doing anything to bring it on.

When she's out of our yard, she's leashed or held so tightly she can't breathe, I always have control, period, but I don't kid myself. When she's in the car, I ask people to NOT reach in. I'll reach out with my left hand, while her collar is firmly held in the right; so there is no chance she can slip.

Part of her charm with children is she's small. She weighs only 13 pounds. They see her and her exhuberance and automatically thing "puppy!", but she's not.

Rhiannon is right, dog owners have a responsibility to other people:

We should make room for those who are not of the friendly dog persuasion, clean up our messes, we shoudl help educate the public about how to approach a strange animal, and to warn people that even the most sweet and timid dogs will and do bite at the strangest times. We owe it to our dogs to not keep them leashed to parking meters and statues. If we need to go somewhere where they aren't wanted for Goodness sakes, leave them HOME. They'll love you for it and you'll love them when you get home and they haven't bitten anyone or otherwise caused a major hassle or nuisance.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com