Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-08-28 - 9:39 a.m.

Diversity

There are two things in live I will never understand.. Nascar and wrestling. Now, I'm not putting either one down, I'm just saying that I don't understand them or those that love them. This morning, Gorm and I were making our way to work listening to a local radio show that was playing a silly little game to give away tickets to get an autograph from a Nascar driver (Little "E" to be precise). The person calling in to play the game was all squeals and in spasms of delight because she *MIGHT* get a chance to stand in line to get an autograph. She had to speak for 20 seconds about the number 8 (which is apparently Dale Earnhardt Jr.'s car number). She gushed about Dale Jr. like a 15 year old schoolgirl with her first crush and how much she just loooooooooooves Dale Jr. It was rather silly. I mean people around here just go nuts over NASCAR. I just don't get it. I used to live over by the racetrack and moved as soon as I could. I mean, what's the fascination with going fast and turning left? People do occasionally hit the wall, and I guess that can be cool to watch, and I usually like violent movies, but there's something about KNOWING the person in a movie is truly walking away, while someone in a real life honest to goodness car crash into a Jersey wall at like 200mph probably isn't. I can do without that.

Okay... let's move on to wrestling. I can take it for it's surface value of entertainment. At least now they admit it's just entertainment. I have a family member that would get in your face pissed off if you ever even hinted that wrestling is faked or for entertainment. She (yes, I have a redneck in my woodpile) thought it was real and the living end. She followed those guys (and I use the term loosely) like they were rock stars. I guess it's only fitting she'd turn from wrestling to NASCAR. Her daughter (my niece) is the same. They thought it was cute when she was just old enough to talk that she could recite wrestler's names and who they fought most recently (as well as NASCAR drivers names and numbers). I just don't get the entertainment value of breakaway tables and chairs and people bouncing off ropes and the "in your face" interviews and the hype.

The same goes with comics. I just don't get it. I have never been one for comics, even as a kid. I will admit that it's been forever since I've read one... I think I got a look at a friend's comic book when I was like 10 or so. I didn't see "it" then and I don't get it now.

I guess tt's just not me.. but then people probably don't understand my fascination with Law & Order either.

To each their own though, and I'm glad we're not all the same. Diversity is GOOD!



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com