Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-07-30 - 9:42 a.m.

My Name, Dog Update and Pennsic Packing

The dog appears back to normal, somewhat, although she's not overjoyed about being crated, and the two cats are jealous as hell (she gets canned food in her crate, and she gets to eat it all herself). When we left the two, they were both sitting outside of her cage, looking at her food bowl lovingly and you could see they were just trying to figure a way in (the bars are too close together for them to get a paw in).

As for my tiny tirade about my name and the Society Heralds... I've come to a decision. I'm going to keep the name Eilis MacKiernan, I've really grown to like it. If I can find a way to register it, I will, if not, I won't, but either way, I'm keeping the name. I like the name, and it took me several years to find one I like, so I'm not giving up easily. I'm stubborn.

I was trying to wait until I got the letter from Laurel letting me know my name was registered to me; since I know now that letter isn't coming, and I've made my decision on what I intend to do about it, and since my event is over, and since it looks like we're going to end our earthlink association in favor of a satellite modem, so there's no need to hold on to "rhiannon" any more. I'm going to continue on with the process for the name change. The event has gone a long way to getting the word out, but there's a little bit more to be done.

Pennsic prep is coming along very well. We're done "have to" sewing, and are now in the "wouldn't this be neat" sewing. We've got to pack things up and that's about it. We had a LOT more garb than we thought (and I bought some garb at my event, so that's helpful).

I'm going to make myself a couple pairs of pants and maybe some shirts, I've got a veil (linen, even); so now all I need is to practice braiding my hair. I'm taking my inkle loom and some cards, to warp it for card weaving. I'm thinking about making myself a belt with my name woven in, just for fun. I'm also taking the bobbin lace. I'm not going to let something with the name of "baby heather" beat me.

***FURTHER NAME UPDATE***

I've decided to do what I can to mount an appeal of the decision of my name to Laurel. I've already begun to enlist help with the appeal. Yes, I know I'm probably tilting at windmills, and I probably won't win; but at least I'm going to give it a try. I figure I'll never know if it would have worked if I don't give it a shot. I've called upon some excellent resources and I'm about to call upon even more. I'm going to give it a good effort and we'll see what happens... regardless, I'm still keeping the name Eilis (not that Elizabeth isn't a good name, it's just not the one I wanted).



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com