Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-03-11 - 11:37 a.m.

Nostalgia of sorts, and good things coming!

I'm sure it's on a few people's minds... today is the 6 month "anniversary" of Sept. 11th. How do I plan to memorialize it? By living my life as if it never happened. I am *very* sorry for what happened to everyone involved; I still cry when I see that battered flag from the WTC; but contrary to what some people think, the world didn't stop revolving, and life continued on, even when we could swear it ground to a halt for several weeks.

My point is simple, live life, don't dwell on what happened. All it does is increase the fear factor and then they win.

I have no intention of watching the "9/11 shows" that are cropping up. I watched enough that week and since then. I found out what I need to know (such as what really caused the collapse of the two WTC buildings and how it actually happened). I don't want to dwell on the last minutes of the people who died, that's morbid and I don't believe that's a good way to get through this.

I am appalled that the WTC flag is still being shown off at major events. I was so upset when I saw that flag being marched around the track at the Olympics, that I cried. That was not the time nor the place to remember what happened. The world knows what we suffered. We should be allowed to grieve in peace, and then to move on. I know it was part of something huge, but it is a flag of our nation and once that symbol is damaged it should be destroyed according to protocol. Barring that, it should be housed in one of museums in DC, not paraded around like a prom queen. Give it the rest it deserves. We are battered and bloody but we will not be defeated. We don't need a batteredm, torn and dirty flag to show what most of the world already knows... America will recover.

On another more cheer inspiring note, I turned in my resignation today. It feels good to know there's an end in sight. 8 days and my time here at VCU is over and I can now allow myself to look forward to something happier going on (whcih is always good!) The new job is going to be a change for me, I'm leaving behind a lot of the secretarial part of my life, and turning those skills into something else. I'm excited, scared, nervous, happy and somewhat skittish. Wow, it's tiresome to be all those things! I didn't realize exactly how much of an emotional low I've been in lately until I started coming out of things. I knew I was tired and sleeping a lot, and I thought I was sinking into a depression, but I was trying very hard not to. Thankfully, my dear sweet loveable husband didn't give me a hard time about it, he just did what he could and waited for it to pass, which thankfully it did. Thanks to all of my friends for their support durig all of this, you have no idea how much I appreciate each of you! Rhi



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com