Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-02-11 - 6:25 p.m.

Calls at home

I'm home sick today with a migraine and sinus problems... too much fun this weekend, I guess....

During the course the day, the phone rang 5 times. One was from our former satellite company asking if today would be good to come by and pick up the satellite system we rented from them. We ended that rental contract 5 (yes FIVE) months ago! Why today? three were "wrong numbers" and one was from my office asking if I was going to be into work tomorrow since the other two secretaries and I have to plan a "get lost kid" party for a part time person who's leaving our employ (not fast enough in my not so humble opinion) due to budget cuts. Now I don't mind my co-workers calling me at home for something IMPORTANT, but I absolutely positively hate being called at home for stupid stuff. He leaves on Thursday, tomorrow is only Tuesday. How hard can it be to call the Pizza Hut and have Pizza delivered? It doesn't take two days' notice.

One of the reasons I left my last job two years ago because the other secretary in our office would callme at home when I was off (either for sick or vacation); just to see "what was up" or what I was doing on my time off. This feels like my boss was calling to check up on me, which I hate. He doesn't do it to anyone else (I did call in and say I wouldn' be there); but it sure seems like he finds reasons to call me.

I guess I can choose to believe he does it because he can't live without me Monday through Friday; but ya know, I'm NOT indispensable and I am allowed time off to be sick. I get over 100 hours a year to be sick, and over 250 a year for personal vacations and the like... this is the third day this year I've been sick (yeah, that's only been since Jan. 1, what's your point?) I don't go to work when I can't function and I don't go to work when I believe I'm contagious. I hate people giving me their crud, so I don't give them mine (which is usually how I end up sick... someone with a sick kid comes to work and wheezes, coughs or sneezes in my office).

I'm still in a good mood about Tourney of Ymir, but this really does honk me off.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com