Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-02-07 - 11:10 a.m.

Heavy AND Rapier AND Archery AND A&S

As an avid reader and seldom poster to the Merry Rose Tavern at Cheapside, we have now started a thread of "Which is better".

Okay... now I'm female (well DUH!) and I've never tried heavy fighting, and probably never will. I'm a wuss. Pure and simple. I know of other friends who are female and fight heavy and I have the utmost respect and admiration (dare I say AWE) for them. They can do what I can't.

I am a rapier fighter (although I'm not very good); and I'm a combat archer (I'm okay at this, but I have fun which is the most important thing). I'm also a herald, an MOL, an apprentice chirurgeon, a troll on occasion and a gopher when the need arises.

In my humble opinion, all of these have their time and place. The way it was explained to me, and it makes sense to me, is that while the Heavies fight to be King, the rapier folks fight for the Queen's Honor; which is a bit more genteel than whack a seal.

I enjoy walking away from a rapier fight with at most a quarter size bruise on my person. When my Lord was fighting heavy, he ran up against Duke Sir Cow at Pennsic and his entire thigh was black with bruising. You may say he didn't block well, and perhaps you're right, since I'm not a heavy fighter I can't say.

But for me, that involves more pain and soreness than I'm prepared to give for a hobby. The society is large enough for all of us to peacefully co-exist. Neither one is better or "more" than the other, we just are.

Someone posted then when rapier was starting, he was behind it, but he had no idea it would take on the life that it has, as if insinuating that he only meant it to be a secondary "thing" but that heavy fighting should be the main focus for everyone.

In the grand scheme of things in MY world, I enjoy watching a good heavy melee, I'm not really much for single combat, and that I love to watch two really excellent rapier duellists give each other their best.

Crusades will always be my most favorite event. The first year we went, I was standing by the field, with my back to it talking to a friend of mine. I never heard the lay on, but I did dear the deafening crash as the two sides collided. It sent chills throughout my body and for a split second, I was transported back in time to pavilions and courtesy and Knightly honor and courtly love. That doesn't happen with rapier fighting. At most you hear voices and perhaps the poke poke of a sword hitting a buckler. Not much to listen to, but a lot to take in.

As for A&S, that's another sport entirely. Anyone who's ever worked at a project over and over and over until they're satisfied with a project, then worked on documentation until they're practically an authority on the subject then turns it over to other people to be judged has to be about as crazy as someone who'd pick up inch and a quarter rattan.

It's all relative and to make the Society what it is, we need everyone to do their part, not to try and debate which is "better".



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com