Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-02-01 - 4:38 a.m.

4:30a.m. Ramblings of no consequence

Well, it's FINALLY Friday! A few days ago I thought this day would never come. Yeah, it's 4:38AM, what's your point? It's the price I've paid for going to bed at 10:00; and having a cat that doesn't sleep with us (Her Majesty Honey won't hear of it) and needs company; so our door was rattled off the hinges practically followed by loud cat-like wailing... so here I am.

Let's see, I could attempt to do a high-brow discusson like colin-g or His Excellency balynar, but my brain barely works like that during the day, let alone at this early in the morning.

News of note:

We got our air mattress for pennsic. Now all we have to do is build a bed frame around it and we're golden!

My mortar, pestle and wondercup arrived yesterday.

My love and I have been growling at each other for days now. It started on like Tuesday and while we're not outright arguing, I don't like it. It's like neither of us can do anything well enough to please the other person. There's no real point of conflict, we're just both ready to snap at each other for the least little thing. I read things in his tone, and he reads things in my tone.

I'm putting it down to stress on my part. I've had a lot of issues going on at work this week, and I just want to come home to a conflict free world for a few hours, eat popcorn and watch something incredibly inane. The budget projection for work should be done tomorrow (third time's the charm... I'm closer to pleasing my boss than I ever have been in this whole process). BTW, a budget projection is really difficult to do when you have no clue what types of numbers he's looking for. Each time I re-do it, he tries to cut more money from the budget, I think we're getting down to the "there's nothing more to cut" part of the process. Which means he'll probably grump, but it'll go down to the Fiscal Administrator anyways.

One of my cohorts across the hall doesn't like discussing budget issues, and it usually ends with her yelling (most of the time at me); she doesn't get the fact that I hate being the bad guy by telling her that no, we can't have a work study student work during spring break, and that they probably won't be able to finish the entire semester. No, she can't have all the special order office supplies she wants, and no, we can't leave full boxes of diskettes out where the faculty can grab an entire box (yes, it's getting down to being THAT petty with the office supplies--We have thirty-three faculty members on staff, give each of them two boxes of diskettes at $5 a box, you do the math... why 33? Because they're children, give one person a box and everyone wants one... it's the crayon syndrome all over again).

Another topic! I was all set to enter some of my weaving into an A&S thingy the first weekend in March; it was going to be my first submission in the A&S world, but now that I've seen the description, there's no way. It's a "pentathlon" meaning I have to have 5 (yes FIVE) items relating to my persona; and this isn't just for the competition, it's also for the display; and oh yeah, that's only if space permits because there is going to be a Laurel Pentathlon display as well.

Okay, I've only been around the S.C.A. for about 4 years, and I admit to being clueless; but a Laurel Pentathlon display smacks of "see aren't I great!" Who can compete with THAT? They're Laurel's for chrissakes! Even if I DID have five items (which I don't); there's no way I would even consider putting my stuff up next to a Laurel to be admired or mentally judged. I'd have to be insane. I'm a novice weaver! While I'm not the best, I think I'm doing pretty good for someone without a Teacher.

It was suggested that I weave something my persona might wear, then include something I've made from cloth I've woven (like a piece of GARB!); perhaps use some weaving supplies that might have been used back then, oh yes, I could learn to spin and add that in too. And don't forget good documentation for each piece!! Does this person (who is someone relatively knowledgeable about A&S) think that it takes the blink of an eye to weave enough cloth to make an outfit? It takes HOURS on Hours! I can't just whip off 10 yards and make myself a 10-gore dress. That's not how that works.

Well, I'm disappointed to say the least, and I think that this is very exclusionary to folks new to doing A&S stuff. I wish there had been a single event category just labeled: I'm new to A&S and , I'd like some constructive criticism, please.

Oh well, I'll just keep plugging away and it will come one day--I hope. That would have been a nice venue to get my stuff "out there"... *sigh*

Well, time to empty the catbox (maybe that will shut her up) and try to go back to bed. It's either go back to bed or do some dishes which would probably wake up my beloved, which for reasons we've already discussed, would be bad.

For the two or three of you that read this... take care :)



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com