Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-01-19 - 7:16 p.m.

A visit to the pre-1800's

Well, last night was a treat... We got to visit the pre-1800's for a while without even leaving our house. Actually, it happened WHEN we got to our house.

We were out shopping after work and when we got home and it was dark.. not dark... but REALLY dark, as in no electricity. We had stopped by the local Wal Mart to do some shopping and as we drove down the street, I realized how DARK it really was in the woods. As we get closer to our house, I tend to look for the security light that's attached to the apex of the roof and overlooks our driveway. Nothing. Nada. Our next door neighbors house was dark as night. This isn't good. There is a time to be thankful for being blind as a bat, and that's when the electricity goes out. My Love couldn't get three feet into the house without tripping over his feet. I managed to get in the front door (once he came out); and made my way through the living room to the kitchen to look for matches. Once I got to the kitchen, the matches weren't in their usual home. Damnit! Necessity really IS the mother of invention. I used the indiglo button on my watch to illuminate the kitchen with its eerie light so I could find the matches that were left on the counter.

Thank God the faculty in my office had no clue what to buy the secretaries for Christmas this year.. I got... you guessed it.. candles! Vanilla, cinnamon, bayberry, pine, and lots of other scents as well. I lit one of them and then went around the house lighting a candle in each room we'd be using.. then it hit me... Emergency candles!! (those candles that come in the tall glass containers) For some odd reason I'd bought a box of 4 of them over the summer and just stashed them away... I managed to remember where I stashed them and pulled them out.

Within minutes, we looked like we had broken into a funeral parlor. All that was missing was the dead body. We huddled up in bed with the dog and the number to the Electrical Co-op and waited. My Love got bored and decided we needed popcorn... so off to the kitchen he went. I heard lots of banging and crashing and then in a few minutes, then a "I'm ready for your help, now!" call from the kitchen. I came into the kitchen just in time to watch him throw lit matches at the stove (he had turned the gas on). After I giggled a bit, I talked him through how to light the stove without throwing lit matches at it. (I bought fireplace matches today).

We ended up with buttered flavored popcorn and went back to bed to wait for the lights to come on....as I laid there, I thought of all the things I wanted to do, but all of them involved electricity in one form or another. I wondered what people did before "real" electricity at night... the only answer I could come up with was "sleep", which didn't really appeal. (If I went to bed then, I'd be up at 2a.m. and then what would I do?!)

After about an hour or so, the lights flickered a few times, the dog barked at the interruption of her cuddle time. I reached over for the bedside lamp, he reached for the tv/satellite remote and the visit to the pre-1800's was over!



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com