Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2001-12-07 - 11:54 a.m.

Christmas and Catholicism

*sigh* take two

**important notice**

I tend to ramble incessantly and I tend to write what's on the top of my head, so be warned.... it may be disjointed and it may make very little sense ... you cant say I didn't warn you.

**end important notice**

Let's see.. what's happened lately?? My love has a new job (YEAY!); he started it about two weeks ago now; Christmas is coming (YIPPEE!) I love Christmas! This year, we're going to Pennsylvania for Christmas (to visit my inlaws). My MIL doesn't really like me all that much, but I'm going to try and make an effort to be more likeable. That's about all I can do. It should be fun.. me, my Love and our dog (10 pounds of furry fury wrapped up in a dachshund suit); in a pickup truck (can you say "redneck"? I knew you could!); headed North.

Other than that, I'd say the biggest thing going on with me lately is my investigation into Catholicism. I was raised a Southern Baptist, but left the church and pretty much all religion about 15 years ago. Since then, God and I have had several differences of opinion and things have gotten rather distant. Lately though, and even moreso since Sept. 11th, I've been feeling rather pulled back to religion, but not to what was my religion.

For as long as I can remember, I've had a "soft spot" for the catholic religion . I didn't know very much about it, and I still don't, but it certainly bore looking into. The only thing I had to go on was what I heard from my parent's church by way of a sermon about those "poor misguided catholics down the street". I felt uncomfortable during the sermon and I believe what I heard was one of the many reasons I stopped going to church. It wasn't very flattering at all to say the least.

When I finally got up the nerve to ask a close friend some questions, and I told her why I wanted the info, she answered my questions and sent me two books and I read them from cover to cover twice. I took the next step and made an appointment with a priest to get some ideas and questions clarified. He was less than informative. He asked me questins about my lifestyle and my family, but wasn't very forthcoming with any type of conversation on church doctrine. I got the feeling he would have much rather been at home falling asleep in front of the tv. I left that meeting somewhat discouraged.

Just recently, the friend who sent me the books decided to come for a visit. She's coming this weekend and we're going to mass tonight (it's one of the holy days of obligation) and it will be my first Mass (other than the midnight Mass I did at christmas one year)... that one gave me mixed feeilngs. I liked what I saw, but I hated that I had to lie to my father to go.

I'm excited, interested, a little nervous, and someone scared. Am I betraying my father's beliefs, is that okay (even if he is dead)? Is it wrong to completely disregard what he belived to make myself happy? I just need something more touchy-feely.

He's been gone for about 8 years now, it's one more way I'm letting go, but sheesh, I didn't think it would be this long of a process!

peace



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com