Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-04-18 - 11:11 a.m.

Thoughts on MY Journey

I'm not on a Peer journey of any kind, but thanks to an email conversation I had with someone, I've spent the last 24 hours thinking about some of the people I've been using as my silent mentors and the qualities these people have that I'm trying to learn about and emulate. Most of my upbringing was rather difficult, and I had to learn a lot on my own, which is why most of the time, I feel like a bull in china shop. I never know what to do, or say or not say, so I mostly sit quietly and say very little. When I'm in an unfamiliar situation (i.e. Peer Fear, I tend to listen twice as much as I talk, if not more)... I tend to become one with the wallpaper... still.

But this isn't about my own fears, it's about what I see in the people around me that makes me try harder and makes me take in so much. I feel as if I'm a sponge at times.... and I hope I reflect at least half of what I take in.

In no particular order, here are the qualities I've been observing from Peers and someday-to-be peers.

The first is grace. Seemingly effortless beauty, charm, form, or propriety. Being generous or helpful and making it look SO easy. That's the key.

The making it look easy part, is kinda like that duck.... smooth on the surface and paddling like heck underneath.

The next is "nobility": to steal one of the definitions from dictionary.com:

3. The state or quality of being exalted in character.

To me, it means to have a character above reproach. That's a hard one. We all slip on occasion.

The third one is honor:

A definition I have is Principled uprightness of character, personal integrity. Personal Honor is about being able to look at yourself in the mirror and know that you've done the Right Thing(tm) and your best at whatever you do.

It's what you use to build personal and professional respect. It takes a lifetime to build, but it can be torn to shreds in no time at all.

The last on my list, is Courtesy. The simplest definition is polite behavior towards others. Basically, the golden rule. It's easy to grump at people when you're having a bad day. Courtesy happens when you'd rather call someone an "incompetent jerk" but instead, you thank them for their patience (and pray silently for more patience for yourself).

It all ties together in a nice neat package.... I just have one question....

How in the world do all of yall look so nice and neat and put-together at the end of a hot-sweaty event, when I look like I'm one step away from the trash heap. That's the one thing that's always amazed me. I look and feel like a wrung out dirty sock, and everyone around me looks so nice and "fresh". There HAS to be a secret!

I am determined to find out what it is! You all can't keep it a secret forever!



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com